Train Table

Now I’ve wanted to make something similar to this for the boys when I first saw it on Pinterest a while back.

Photo courtesy of gltc.co.uk

.

So, when the opportunity came up with a spare desk top (which we removed to make way for a small table and stools sets – posted about it here) I took the idea and made it a reality today.

So this is the desk top with the legs removed (this is an IKEA Linnmon Table Top)

.

I taught Josh how to use the power drill and got him to remove parts of the old legs.

.

I then added caster wheels bought from IKEA

.

And once all the wheels were on, I set out to line the top with green felt. I used double sticky tape to secure the felt on the table top.

.

I bought green acrylic fabric from Spotlight.

.

Then when the felt was on, Josh went about setting up his train tracks on it.

.

His brother Zach had just woken up from his nap and was happy to discover their new train table.

.

I added a few extra things to complete the scenery, like a pond …

.

… and a helicopter pad for Harold

table 11.

Then when it’s not in use, it can get wheeled under the bed, out of the way!

Happy smiles for all 🙂

Mariane of Cook You Some Noodles

One thought on “Train Table

Leave a Reply

