My New Bag

Thought I’d have a {PERSONAL PROJECT} today when I received my $5 Friday e-mail from Michelle Patterns

6a00e54fb57598883401901df2c121970b-800wi

Photo courtesy of Michelle Patterns

.

So I bought the 2 Additional Sizes of Messenger Bag (2 smaller sized bags) as well as the original Messenger Bag pattern – approximate dimensions 11″ (W) x 10″ (H) x 3″ (D) for the instructions. Now Michelle’s patterns (previously know as KeyKa Lou) is how I learnt how to sew. Her comprehensive tutorials with lots of step by step pictures are fantastic. She also has additional handy tips in her blog. I used to sell women’s purses and handbags from her patterns prior to making toys and dolls and now the My Teeny-Tiny Dolls®.

So with the rain today and the boys out of the house, thought I’d make myself a new messenger bag. Now for school pick-ups and drop-offs, I would only bring my keys, which I think is quite irresponsible of me, really. I should bring my mobile phone and ID aswell. Most of my bags now-a-days are big ones to house all the necessary stuff you need with 2 little boys and the small bags are more clutches and are a bit dressier.

My progress of the bag got me really excited and was keen to get it all finished before the boys arrived home.

messenger bag 2.

So after 2 hours, I finished!

bag 1bag 2

.

I love the pocket at the front, as well as the internal pocket.

bag 3

.

The fabrics for the exterior and the lining are both from IKEA

fabric CollageAs you can see, I omitted the front buckle straps and I just used magnetic snaps.

If you can sew (even if just a beginner) check out Michelle Patterns – highly recommend them

signature 4.

EDIT: Pardon my tracky daks (tracksuit pants) and sweatshirt, but thought I’d show you the bag worn on.

BAG 4

14 thoughts on “My New Bag

    • Thanks Melissa. The IKEA fabrics I used are both quite thick, so I didn’t need to iron on interface to the fabrics and I omitted the quilting part at the bottom of the bag. Let me know if you have any questions 🙂

  1. Your bag looks GREAT, Mariane! Your photos are also so beautiful and bright. Thank you for such a nice blog post. I appreciate your business and the mention on your blog!

  2. Love it! Love the polka dots and orange as well. Just starting on a tote bag myself. Fabric bags are one of my most favorite items to sew! Thanks for sharing your beautiful bag with us.

  3. I really like this messenger bag and see that you sell the PDF pattern for the larger size bag (with clip). I like the smaller size. Does the larger pattern include directions on how to size it down?

Leave a Reply

