Could’ve Been … Should’ve Been, But It Wasn’t

I thought today was going to be one of “those” days. As I started sewing this morning, I had taken off one of the overlocking thread from the overlocker just in case I ran out of my white thread from the sewing machine. Then I remembered I “needed” to use the overlocker, so I re-thread it but then it got tangled, re-threaded, tangled … argh. So I gave up and was going to use the zig-zag on my machine, but that didn’t work. So I went back to the overlocker, and wouldn’t you know it, one of the needles broke … grrr!

 

Photo courtesy of Curbly

 

To undo the needles you need a very teeny-tiny alan key it seems, which I know I have somewhere but couldn’t find. So I Macgyver-ed it up and used the filer on the big nailcutter and that worked. So, determined not to let it ruin my day, I managed to fix it, it worked and off I went to sew my little heart away.

 All this time it was raining heavily and I knew I had to go to the post office some time during the day. I knew it wasn’t going to be a pleasant trip with the boys in tow (we walk everywhere here in the city) – even if we did have matching raincoats 🙂

Photo from daytrip to Thirlmere Festival March 4th

 

So the boys and I went about our normal business, with tickles and giggles in between. I kept checking if the rain would let up, but nope, it seems like it wasn’t going to happen.

Then, just before 3pm I looked out and the ground of our courtyard had dry patches and the rain did stop *clap, clap, clap*

So, packed the boys’ things and popped our raincoats in my bag and off we went. And … it didn’t rain while we were out.

We got back home, boys played with their toys and I continued my sewing.

As I look back on the day it could’ve have been an awful day. It could’ve been stressful and particularly not nice for all parties involved. Am so glad I wasn’t too tired or sleepy to be able to turn the day around. Oh, and I got lots of sewing done too 🙂

Leave a Reply

