Josh’s New Tote Backpack

I have been so busy that I have neglected my blog for a while, so will try to get posts up more regularly. I also haven’t had the time to catch up with my favourite blogs, but the other day I managed to get a bit of time and saw a great project from one of my favourite bloggers Dana from MADE

She made a Transportation Tote for her little guy and I knew it would be something Josh would love too.

Photo courtesy of MADE
 
I showed it to Josh yesterday and of course he wanted me to make it for him. I love his reaction when I make him something new + he needed a new bag for our outings.
 
So last night (or in the very wee hours of the morning) I started to make the bag and couldn’t stop and had to finish it. Let’s just say I finished when it started to get light outside – hmm, we’ll see how my mood goes today, so far, so good.
 
Here is my take on it.
 
 
 
I sewed a black strip of felt for the road and used the following cliparts of the car and aeroplane.
  

Photo courtesy of Auto Clipart Photo courtesy of coloring-drawing.com

Photo courtesy of coloring-drawing.com

 

Since Josh was asleep, I got one of his t-shirts and measured the shoulders and length for the dimensions of the bag.

For the boxed corners of the bottom of the bag, I measured one our lunch boxes to make sure it would sit flat at the bottom of the bag.

To make the tote nice and sturdy, I lined it with the same fabric which I got from IKEA and put 2 sets of pockets inside. One side has two pockets that fits a Crayon Art Wallet and the other pockets I’ve divided into 3 section so it can fit his toy cars and trains.

 

He was very happy when I gave it to him this morning – I think he said “Wow!” 

Then later he came up to me to say thank you and that I’m “such a good sewer” – aaw, love it! 

Here he is enjoying his new Crayon Art Wallet.

 

And he’s had it on his back ever since!

Have a great day everyone, as we are xxx  Mariane

One thought on “Josh’s New Tote Backpack

Leave a Reply

