Fabric Organisation

My fabric stash boxes are getting overcrowded and I still have lots of fabrics that need to find a home.

This is how I used to store my fabrics.

 

These IKEA boxes were great fabric storage as it stored my fabrics beautifully, but it’s come to point where I have as much fabrics outside as I have inside these boxes.

So it was great to see Smashed Peas and Carrots’ Mini Fabric Bolts organisation tip.

Photo courtesy of Smashed Peas and Carrots

 

Don’t her fabrics look fantastic! She used comic book boards as mini fabric bolts  – superb idea!

Guess what I got myself today? Yep, comic book boards. So got the boys all rugged up and off we went into the city. It was actually such a lovely adventure for us, as each new venture now gets more exciting as Josh’s vocabulary and conversations widen.

So, I bought the 7″ x 10.5″ boards

and started unfolding and refolding my fabric stash.

Over the weekend, Hubby and I did a bit of “autumn” cleaning and got rid of a lot of things we no longer needed. Hubby cleared our bookshelves of the books, CDs and DVDs we no longer used.

This is how it turned out and I’ve already started moving some of my merchandise on it and now it will also hold most of my fabrics.

 

Here’s how it looks now with just some of my fabrics.

Top shelf has my solid colours (grouped in cotton drill, polypop and homespun), stripes, polka dots, checked and star prints.

The second shelf holds my IKEA canvas fabrics.

They are looking so much better and being all organised has helped re-surge the crafting energy again. Cleanliness is next to creativeness!

2 thoughts on “Fabric Organisation

Leave a Reply

