The Week So Far

I’ve been busy making Christmas gifts as well as new items for my etsy store.

Here’s a rundown of the things I’ve been doing:

I made a Reversible Newsgirl Hat for a 10-year-old girl. One side is made from a red, white and blue check and the other in navy. I also made a fabric flower brooch/pin that she’ll be able to attach to either side of the hat or clip to her hair, her bag …

 

Next, I started making more Emersonmade inspired fabric flowers. One late night I figured out a way to minimise the fraying of the fabric as well as making each petal stiffer without having to spray it with iron on starch. They turned out quite well. I think the white and navy I will keep as signature colours and the light blue and purple as seasonal or one-offs (the purple one is actually gone already as I gave it to a friend as a gift – purple’s her favourite colour and I thought it would look gorgeous on her).

They measure approximately 4″ in diameter and have both alligator clip and brooch pin so they can be attached to pretty much anything.

 

 

Next I made a car caddy for a 9-year-old boy – pattern from Homemade by Jill.

I painted the numbers on the inside using the freezer paper stenciling technique. I also used velcro tab for the closure rather than the webbing that’s in the tutorial.

 

 

Here’s what it looks like on the inside.

 

On the outside, I painted a traffic light (I used the image of one of the stickers from Josh’s wall decal).

 

These car caddies are great to just pop in the bag for outings and it’ll keep the little one entertained even for just 5 minutes – enough time to sip a bit of that coffee 🙂

 

Next I made a new doll, My Little Best Friend. She is 110% enlarged version of the My Little Dolly . She is suitable for the pre-tweens (5-8 year olds) as they are not too “baby-ish” and this 1st one I made, she is dressed in cargo pants and has her own little messenger bag. Check her out, she is now available in my etsy store.

 

Well that’s what I’ve been up to. 1 more present to make + I received my blank shoe clips yesterday, so I’m making flower shoe clips too. Busy, busy, busy.

Bring on Christmas!

Leave a Reply

