Rolled Fabric Roses

Don’t you just love A-HA! moments. For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been trying my hands on making fabric flowers – plan was to try to make a few headbands and hair accessories to time it with the Spring Carnival.

I’ve been trying to make “rolled fabric flowers” – watched and read sooo many tutorials, and tried the different techniques from different crafters.

I was ready to give up as it just wasn’t looking right. Until yesterday, when I thought I’d give it a go one more time.

This time I didn’t reference anymore tutorials and just winged it.

Miraculously, the first one turned out okay. I used homespun cotton and just kept making more and more. Here’s the final outcome of all that rolling – Fabric Rose Bib Necklace – Pumpkin

 

Next I wanted to see whether that first one was just a fluke. So I grabbed a few more different coloured homespun cotton from my fabric stash and made this – Fabric Flowers Bib Necklace

 

I had a few strips left over so I made a Set of 3 Fabric Rosettes Bobby Pins

 

Okay, thought might as well keep going with this, so today I made this one – Sunshine Rosettes Brooch

 

Don’t you just love my background – hence why I call it Sunshine brooch. 

 

Since then I have made 4 more and I will post them up soon – both here and in my etsy store. Going to make quite a few more before Friday as the retail store in Lennox, NSW is interested in seeing them.

But for the moment – going to enjoy my family and have a nice break over this long Labour Day weekend.

 

Have a great weekend all.

 

Leave a Reply

