New craft toy

With all the crafts I do, there are some ironing that need to be done. This include ironing the small amount of fabrics that have been folded in the stash, for seam allowances and for small pleats. I normally would turn the iron on in the laundry and leave it plugged on until I finish all the necessary ironing. To my hubby’s annoyance, I sometimes forget it’s on (I know, not safe :(, but if it’s any consolation, I never go out with it plugged in).

So I thought I’d buy myself a mini iron that I can have next to my sewing area. Requirements are that I don’t leave it on and not have it accessible to little fingers – yes hubby. Found this one at Lincraft (Birch craft’s Mini Iron). Isn’t she adorable.

 

I also bought a few more fabrics for my buttercup bags. From top to bottom: drills daisy in navy, a heavy weight denim, an oriental brocade and cotton for lining. I also bought brooch pins as I am going to make the flowers detachable.

 

When I got home, I re-assessed my sewing area and decide that I would re-arrange it again (this would be the third time). Where I first had it (next to the computer table) I needed more space. So I moved it to the back wall – but I couldn’t see the TV from there, so I moved it back to its original position. But alas, it was not working out, so decided that if I wanted to watch TV, I couldn’t do it while sewing. So I moved it all back last night.

 

 I moved the 2nd shelf where the sewing table used to be – the arrangement is more user-friendly and doesn’t feel cramped.

 

There are a few things I need to do to make the area more efficient:

  • Make new pin cushions x 2 (1 for the sewing table, 1 for the cutting table) – done 19/02
  • Put another holder for tools such as pencil, scissors … for the cutting table area
  • Put some hooks on the wall to hang tools I use often
  • Put sleeve pockets on the wall to put my paper patterns in
One thought on “New craft toy

Leave a Reply

