Chinese Congee cont’d

The congee was simmering nicely, but I did add an extra cup of boiling water to it as I wanted it a bit more runny. As for more flavouring, I wanted to add chicken but had no chicken in the freezer but lots of minced meat (beef). I saw a recipe for congee with minced pork or chicken here.

Ingredients:

  • 25og of minced pork or chicken
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp of hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce

Mix minced meat, soy sauce and hoisin sauce and marinade for 5 minutes. Turn heat to medium-high setting and add oil. Heat ginger and add pork then oyster sauce. Stir until meat is fully cooked. Spoon serving of congee into a bowl and add some of the meat.

Okay, that’s the recipe right? I realised as I started gathering the ingredients for the meat I didn’t have hoisin sauce, oyster sauce or ginger, so I improvised.

Instead of the hoisin sauce I put Maggi’s Seasoning sauce (but I put 1 tablespoon instead of 1 teaspoon) and instead of oyster sauce, I put fish sauce (but this time only put 1/2 a tablespoon). As for the ginger, I put ginger powder. Apart from putting 1 tablespoon of the Seasoning sauce, it turned out quite well actually (granted it’s a bit saltier). But instead of adding soy sauce to the mix, you won’t need to with this.

So next time, I know I can use my variation but less of the Seasoning sauce. Here it is:

Leave a Reply

